Thursday 24 April 2014

2014 Arthur Ellis Awards for Crime Writing: Shortlists announced

Yes, yes, yes!  The shortlists of nominees for the Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing were announced tonight.   Awarded annually by the Crime Writers of Canada since 1984, the Arthur Ellis Awards include the following categories:

For Published Works:
  • Best Crime Novel *
  • Best First Crime Novel 
  • Best Crime Book in French
  • Best Crime Nonfiction
  • Best Juvenile/Young Adult Crime Book
  • Best Crime Short Story
For Unpublished Work:
  • The Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel *
*Awards for which prizes are provided

Here are the nominees for the 2014 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Juvenile/Young Adult Crime Book:

Karen Autio
Sono Nis Press


Gail Gallant
Doubleday Canada

Elizabeth MacLeod
Bones Never Lie: How Forensics Helps Solve History’s Mysteries
Annick Press

Ted Staunton
Who I’m Not 
Orca Book Publishers

The 2014 winners will be announced at the Arthur Ellis Awards gala dinner on Thursday, June 5, at the Arts & Letters Club in downtown Toronto.


Alison E. Bruce said...

ERRATA: There is no cash prize for the Best First Novel.

The Best Novel winner receives $1000, sponsored by Crime Writers of Canada. The Unhanged Arthur winner receives $500 and is read by an acquisition editor, sponsored by Dundurn Press.

Helen K said...

Thank you for correcting my error. I will amend this.