Sunday 13 April 2014

2014 Alberta Literary Awards short lists announced

The short-lists for the Alberta Literary Awards were just announced a few days ago. (Press release here.) The Alberta Literary Awards, created by the Writers Guild of Alberta in 1982, recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors.

The Writers Guild of Alberta presents the following nine awards as well as administers two city book awards:

• R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature This award alternates yearly between picture and chapter books

• Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

• Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction

• Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

• Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry 

• Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award

• James H. Gray Award for Short Non-Fiction

• Howard O'Hagan Award for Short Story

• Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Prize

The two city book awards are:
• The City of Calgary W. O. Mitchell Book Prize

• The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize

The one award that is always about youngCanLit is the R. Ross Annett Award, whose nominees, all books penned by Alberta authors, I present here:

The 2014 nominees for the
R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature 

Graffiti Knight
by Karen Bass
Pajama Press

Reviewed here

The Great Bike Rescue
by Hazel Hutchins
Orca Book Publishers

Not With a Bang
by Gail Sidonie Sobat
Magpie Books

Reviewed here

The winners of all awards will be announced in June. 

Congratulations to all nominees!

No comments: