Tuesday 26 August 2014

2014 WILLA Literary Awards from Women Writing the West

The organization Women Writing the West recently announced the winners and honour books (finalists) for its 16th Annual WILLA Literary Awards named for Pulitzer-award winning author Willa Cather.  These books are published stories about women or girls set in the North American West.

The seven categories for which WILLAs are awarded are:

  • Contemporary Fiction
  • Historical Fiction
  • Original Softcover Fiction (Trade or Mass Market)
  • Creative Non-Fiction
  • Scholarly Non-Fiction
  • Poetry
  • Children's and Young Adult Fiction and Non-Fiction

In this final category, the only one relevant to CanLit for LittleCanadians, a youngCanLit title was in the top three:

Congratulations to 
Dayle Campbell Gaetz's 
Taking the Reins 
for being selected as 
a finalist for the Children's Fiction WILLA 2014.

Taking the Reins
by Dayle Campbell Gaetz
Coteau Books
232 pp.
Ages 10-14