Sunday 2 February 2020

2020 Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Picture Book Award: Finalists announced

International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) Canada administers the  Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award which was established in 1985 following the death of Canadian illustrator Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver. This award is given annually in recognition of outstanding artistic talent in a Canadian picture book.

This year's finalists were announced on January 30, 2020. Congratulations to the following short-listed titles and illustrators:

Josée Bisaillon
Dancing with Daisy
Written by Jan Coates
Running the Goat Books
Reviewed here

Gary Clement
My Winter City
Written by James Gladstone
Groundwood Books

Geneviève Després
Laurent, c’est moi!
Written by Stéphanie Deslauriers

Emma FitzGerald
A Pocket of Time: The Poetic Childhood of Elizabeth Bishop
Written by Rita Wilson
Nimbus Publishing

Julie Flett
Written by Julie Flett
Greystone Books

Julie Morstad
It Began With a Page: How Gyo Fujikawa Drew the Way
Written by Kyo Maclear
Tundra Books

Dena Seiferling
King Mouse
Written by Cary Fagan
Tundra Books

Sydney Smith
Small in the City
Written by Sydney Smith
Groundwood Books
Reviewed here

François Thisdale
Bon Voyage, Mister Rodriguez
Written by Christiane Duchesne
Pajama Press
Reviewed here

Rachel Wada
The Phone Booth in Mr. Hirota’s Garden
Written by Heather Smith
Orca Book Publishers

The winner will be announced at the IBBY Canada AGM meeting on March 6, 2020.