Sunday 10 June 2012

2012 R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature: Alberta Literary Award

The Writers Guild of Alberta created the Alberta Literary Awards in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors.

Last night the Writers Guild of Alberta co-hosted the Alberta Book Awards Gala with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta at Hotel Arts in Calgary, announcing the winners of its nine Alberta Literary Awards:

• R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature This award alternates yearly between picture and chapter books

• Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction

• Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction
• Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama
• Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry 

• Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award

• James H. Gray Award for Short Non-Fiction

• Howard O'Hagan Award for Short Story

• Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Prize


The winner of the
R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature
the Alberta Literary Award dedicated to books for young readers

by Cathy Ostlere
 534 pp.
Ages 12+
After her mother’s suicide, fifteen-year-old Maya and her father carry the ashes to India.  However, it is 1984 and their arrival coincides with the assassination of Indira Gandhi, the prime minister.   In the mayhem, Maya is separated from her father, and finds help in Sandeep, a mysterious boy, who she grows to love.    

* Congratulations to Cathy Ostlere *
and all Alberta Literary Award
nominees and winners  

No comments: