Friday 30 October 2020

The 2020 CCBC Book Awards: Winners announced (English-language awards)

Tonight, the Canadian Children's Book Centre, in partnership with the Toronto International Festival of Authors, broadcast its awards ceremony live from the Harbourfront Centre in Toronto. From impressive shortlists–see the website announcement here with pdf–the following books have been selected by juries as this year's winners.

Congratulations to all nominees and most especially tonight's winners!

Here are the six English-language awards given out tonight with details of the prize money and sponsors. (Winners of the two French-language awards will be announced on November 13.)

  • TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($50,000) Sponsored by TD Bank Group;
  • Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000) Sponsored by A. Charles Baillie;
  • Norma Fleck Award For Canadian Children's Non-Fiction ($10,000) Sponsored by the Fleck Family Foundation;
  • Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000) Sponsored by the Canadian Children’s Book Centre’s Bilson Endowment Fund;
  • John Spray Mystery Award ($5,000) Sponsored by John Spray of Mantis Investigation Agency;
  • Amy Mathers Teen Book Award ($5,000) Sponsored by Amy Mathers' Marathon of Books.

TD Canadian Children's Literature Award: WINNER

Written and illustrated by Julie Flett 
Greystone Kids

Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award: WINNER 

Small in the City
Written by Sydney Smith 
Groundwood Books

Norma Fleck Award For Canadian Children's Non-Fiction: WINNER

Killer Style: How Fashion Has Injured, Maimed, & Murdered Through History
Written by Serah-Marie McMahon and Alison Matthews David 
Illustrated by Gillian Wilson 
Owlkids Books

Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People: WINNER 

Orange for the Sunsets
Written by Tina Athaide 
Katherine Tegen Books

John Spray Mystery Award: WINNER

The Starlight Claim
Written by Tim Wynne-Jones

Reviewed here

Amy Mathers Teen Book Award: WINNER

In the Key of Nira Ghani
Written by Natasha Deen 
Running Press Teens

Congratulations to all winners and nominees!

No comments: