Thursday 17 March 2016

The 2016 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children's Book Awards Shortlists

The Carnegie Medal and the Kate Greenaway Medal are children's book awards presented by the CILIP, the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in the United Kingdom.  Shortlists and winners are selected by librarians who serve young readers.

To be eligible for the 2016 Awards titles must have been first published in the UK between September 1, 2014 and August 31,  2015.  Books first published in another country must have been co-published in the UK within three months of the original publication date.

The winning titles will be announced at an awards ceremony in June on their website here.

This year, there are no Canadian authors' books on the shortlist for the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for the writer of an outstanding book for children.

However, among the eight nominated illustrators shortlisted for the 2016 CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal, two feature Canadian illustrators, Jon Klassen and Sydney Smith, whose books covers I've provided here.

Here is the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal Shortlist for 2016

Anthony Browne (author/illustrator)
Willy's Stories
Walker Books

Ross Collins (author/illustrator)
Bear on My Chair
Nosy Crow

Oliver Jeffers (author/illustrator)
Once Upon an Alphabet

Jon Klassen (illustrator)
Sam and Dave Dig a Hole
Mac Barnett (text)
Walker Books

Jackie Morris (author/illustrator)
Something About a Bear
Frances Lincoln

Helen Oxenbury (illustrator)
Captain Jack and the Pirates

Chris Riddell (illustrator)
The Sleeper and the Spindle

Sydney Smith (illustrator)
Footpath Flowers
JonArno Lawson (text)
Walker Books/Groundwood Books

No comments: