Thursday 31 May 2012

Commonwealth Book Prize Regional Winners announced

On May 21, 2012, the ommonwealth Writers announced the regional winners for the 2012 Commonwealth Book Prize and Commonwealth Short Story Prize. Representing five regions of Commonwealth countries, these new writers will now compete for overall winner to be announced at Hay Festival on June 8, 2012. 
In Canada, we are celebrating the selection of Riel Nason as the Regional Winner for Canada and Europe with her young adult novel, The Town That Drowned from Goose Lane Editions (2011).

The Town That Drowned
by Riel Nason
Published by Goose Lane Editions
280 pp.

The announcement from the Commonwealth Writers included the following graphic. Although the resolution is poor on this blog, Riel Nason is the author is the middle of the regional winners.

Commonwealth Book Prize

The list of regional winners includes:

Jacques Strauss, South Africa 
The Dubious Salvation of Jack V 
Jonathan Cape
Regional Winner, Africa

Shehan Karunatilaka, Sri Lanka
Chinaman: The Legend of Pradeep Mathew 
Random House 
Regional Winner, Asia

Riel Nason, Canada
The Town That Drowned 
Goose Lane Editions 
Regional Winner, Canada and Europe
Alecia McKenzie, Jamaica
Peepal Tree Press
Regional Winner, Caribbean

Cory Taylor, Australia
Me and Mr Booker 
The Text Publishing Company
Regional Winner, Pacific
We wish Riel Nason and Goose Lane Editions the best for the June 8th selection of the overall winner, and send hearty congratulations on this astounding win! 


Riel Nason said...

Thanks so much Helen! I really appreciate the post. :-)

Helen K said...

It is an astounding honour, Riel. Imagine being selected from across Canada and Europe. Goose Lane Editions and all lovers of Canadian YA lit should be thrilled for you. I am.