Thursday 22 March 2012

Atlantic Book Awards

Every March, the Atlantic Book Awards Society announces the shortlists of nominated titles for its nine different book prizes.  Then, in May, the Atlantic Book Awards and Festival, which comprises of numerous free events in all Canadian Atlantic provinces, culminates with an awards ceremony.

To get more information about the Atlantic Canada Book Awards, go to

The nine Atlantic Book Awards are:
  • Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature
  • APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award, sponsored by Friesens
  • Dartmouth Book Award for Non-fiction in Memory of Robbie Robertson, presented by the Kiwanis Club of Dartmouth
  • Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing
  • Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction), presented by Boyne Clarke
  • Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration
  • Margaret and John Savage First Book Award
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award for Fiction
  • The Bruneau Family Children’s/Young Adult Literature Award

For the 2012 Atlantic Book Awards nominees, emphasizing those for young readers go to CanLitforLittleCanadians 2012 Atlantic Book Award nominees

No comments: